May Gossip Girl Birchbox Review

Last Modified: May 9, 2012 at 3:06 am by Tianna | Leave a comment

So, I got my May Gossip Girl Birchbox today.

I have to say that as my first Birchbox, I was not really that impressed.

When I opened the box, this is what I saw.

Then this.

Then this when I opened up the box.

Cute wrapping.

These were in the box…

^ Can someone explain this to me?

I didn’t receive anything on this list above except the Twistband and the beautyblender cleanser so I don’t know if that means I’m missing things or what the purpose of listing these products like this is?

Confusion?

Okay, anyway, moving on…

Miss Dior by Dior

Mandarin Citrus, Jasmine & Patchouli Notes

You can really smell the jasmine in this.

Diorshow Extase Mascara by Dior

I really like the brush on this mascara.

Beautyblender Blendercleanser

I like that this is a soy based brush cleanser.

Twistband Headband

This looks so cheap.

It looks literally like a piece of elastic band with the ends tied in a knot together.

Pretty sure that’s what it is.

These retail at 6 for $20 (a little less than $4 each which is INSANE IMO)

Notecard and Envelope

I actually think this is adorable stationery and a lovely way to send a note.

So, that’s everything that was in the Birchbox.

 My favorite items are the soy-based brush cleaner by beautyblender and the Diorshow Extase Mascara.

I am not sure what I was expecting, but I feel that this box was a lot of fluff in packaging and very little product.

I previously said that MyGlam was a lackluster subscription, but now after trying Birchbox, I’d say that in MyGlam you get way more bang for your buck, but little to no designer products.

I think that overall, I expected a lot more given that Birchbox has a waiting list and they were so talked up by everyone.

I guess I felt that it was lacking product; not necessarily full size or deluxe size products, but even small foil samples would have added to the box a lot more than what was actually in this box.

Anyhow, that being said, the product that comes in this box was definitely high end product so if your thing is designer brands or more expensive products and that’s something you want to try before you purchase, the Birchbox may be something you want to try for a few months.

All in all, I will not likely continue my subscription.

I might try it for one more month to see the variation of their samples, but unlikely to last in the long term.

I recommend this to those who like/love designer brands and want to try a lot of different products.

I will update on each of the products I received in this box in a week or two after I’ve had time to do proper evaluation.

OVERALL RATING: 6/10

Has anyone else tried Birchbox and had similar or different thoughts?

Let me know your opinion on Birchbox below!

Hope this review was helpful and I will update on the product reviews so follow me and stay tuned for that!

Stay Beautiful

&

I’ll Talk To You Soon! : ]

Shop Storybook Apothecary

Share Button
Opt In Image
Gain Access to Exclusive Content!

What up green beauty rebels!

Are you new to green beauty and sustainable living? Tired of living a life of conformity? Want access to my FREE green resource library filled with TONS of helpful content including a massive list of my favorite, most effective green beauty brands and shops, non-toxic Halloween ideas, and more? 

Get FREE lifetime access to my Green Resource Library, exclusive monthly newsletters, access to sales and coupon codes, early access to giveaways, and weekly roundups so you never miss a post again! 

43 thoughts on “May Gossip Girl Birchbox Review

  1. May 9, 2012 at 3:21 AM

    Nice review! Thanks for doing one on the Birchbox. 🙂 I’ve got to admit I’m a little hesitant now though, I’d be a little bummed with this selection too.

    1. May 9, 2012 at 3:29 AM

      Thanks! Of course! Yeah I know. I was REALLY excited about this box too. I don’t know if maybe my expectations were just unrealistic or what, but I do feel disappointed. Maybe product performance for each of them will be a little better.

      1. nbassir
        May 10, 2012 at 6:05 AM

        the Dior mascara alone is worth $28, it could be worse.

        1. May 10, 2012 at 6:17 AM

          it’s a deluxe sample so it’s not worth $28, it’s more or less worth like $20, but yeah still worth it!

  2. kawaiimeows
    May 9, 2012 at 5:16 AM

    hi, i was curious, would you mind telling how much your box weighed? dying for the diorshow mascara!

    1. May 9, 2012 at 6:26 AM

      Hmm.. I’m not sure. It was in a small flat rate type box and I don’t think it could have been more than a pound, if that. I’m thinking half a pound maybe? OMG it’s AMAZING; I just used it earlier and it changed my life haha. I had no idea what the fuss was about, but the brush is incredible. I am a huge fan now haha.

      1. kawaiimeows
        May 9, 2012 at 6:34 AM

        great to hear! on the tracking they email you (if you received it, some don’t) there’s a part in the information that says its weight.

        1. May 9, 2012 at 6:48 AM

          right, I’ve just checked and it says .428 lbs. Hope this helps !

  3. Amy
    May 9, 2012 at 5:29 AM

    Nice review! I actually got two boxes for this month because when they announced that they were going to be Gossip Girl themed, I was so excited. My boxes have shipped, so I’m just waiting for them to arrive. It’s great, high-end quality stuff, and I’m sure I’ll find something in them that I’ll adore. But…after all of this hype for them, I guess I was expecting something a bit more glitzy and glamorous?

    It’s not just you that feels disappointed–I’m a long time Birchbox subscriber and for the most part, I absolutely lovelovelove my boxes. I’m sure the ones I get will be fine, but I’m not getting the Gossip Girl, high-end, Upper East Side luxury vibe from these.

    1. May 9, 2012 at 6:29 AM

      Thanks! Yeah I really thought there would be more to it as well. I LOVE the Diorshow Mascara, it is AMAZING, but I was disappointed with the box on a whole. I feel it had more of a Spring theme rather than Gossip Girl . There was no real connection with the show IMHO other than the somewhat high end products included in the box (Dior perfume and mascara). Hmm, maybe I just had Birchbox built up in my mind to be this amazing myth-like beauty box and that’s why I’m bummed? I dunno. Anyhow, I am newly in love with the Diorshow Extase Mascara though. The brush has done things to my lashes haha.

      1. Amy
        May 9, 2012 at 4:11 PM

        I hope I get that mascara in my box! I’ve heard nothing but wonderful, glorious things about it. I know its the holy grail of mascara for a lot of people. I usually spend about $5 on mascara, so I’d love to try this before I buy it!

        No matter what I get, I’m sure I’ll be pleased! I love me some Birchbox!

        Also, I have another blog, purely devoted to beauty products:
        myblushisahorcrux.wordpress.com

        1. May 9, 2012 at 6:10 PM

          Yeah and I NEVER bought into it. And now that I’ve tried it, I think I’m in it for life haha. It is really amazing. Check out my review on it for more details, but it really tripped me out how well it works, how easy to use and how lovely it looks on!

          Haha, yeah I don’t think I’m a Birchbox convert just yet, but maybe next month will be better for me. I dunno.

          Oh cool! I will definitely follow a fellow Harry Potter fan! That just might be the COOLEST blog name EVER! I am almost jealous I didn’t think of it first!

  4. May 9, 2012 at 12:36 PM

    Great review. I always find these boxes more of a gimmick, you can find way better samples going to a department store and asking for samples during promotions!

    1. May 9, 2012 at 5:59 PM

      Thank you! I appreciate that 🙂 Yeah I think for me it’s more about satisfying curiosity than thinking it will be this amazing thing. I know that for me, I thought Birchbox would be better. They are so talked up in the press and by a lot of other beauty bloggers that I was really disappointed by what was actually in the box when I received it. Great packaging, of course, but not too much impressiveness in terms of product quantity. I really DO love the Diorshow Mascara though. It’s a life changer haha. Only thing is I wish it was more natural. The blendercleanser is pretty good too, but I feel like I could get similar results with shampoo and water… not sure how I feel about it because I LOVE the beautyblender sponge! Maybe it will clean sponges more efficiently because those I do have issues cleaning with shampoo and water haha.

  5. Renee
    May 9, 2012 at 1:32 PM

    Nice review. I would have loved to receive your box. I just got some stinky perfume, hair conditioner, hand lotion and some lip filler crap. I am a mascara junkie and I really could use the cleanser lol

    1. May 9, 2012 at 6:05 PM

      Thank you! Always appreciated. Aww I’m sorry. Was this what you received in a different month from Birchbox or another beauty box? That would disappoint me too!

  6. Stacy L
    May 9, 2012 at 9:29 PM

    I hope I get this box. SOOO wanna try that mascara, perfume and beautyblender. I too haven’t cared about that headband but everyone seems to brag about them so will give it a try.

    1. May 9, 2012 at 11:26 PM

      The mascara is my favorite piece in the whole box. it really is so awesome. Can’t rave enough! haha The perfume is nice, but I think some would find it too heavy while others might find it not floral-y enough. Headband was such a waste of my time lol. All in all, mascara made it worth it to me!

  7. May 10, 2012 at 7:37 AM

    Hmm. That was a really disappointing 1st box. Some months are better than others – the April Box was nice and had a full sized organic “Multiple” like product in it. I would give it a few months – for only $10, its my favorite program. 🙂

    1. May 10, 2012 at 7:59 AM

      Hmm oh yeah? yeah I think I will try it for a few more months before I decide whether to stay subscribed or not. 🙂

  8. May 10, 2012 at 3:32 PM

    I thought the mascara was a myth! LOL I tried so hard to just wait until my box got here, but I just HAD to find out what I got. I LOVE your box. I already have that perfume…Of course I wanted the mascara and I actually plan on picking up a beauty blender this weekend…Oh well. *shrug* I didn’t fair too bad. Looked in my account and saw that I’m getting the BB Cream and a Stila Eyeliner! Let’s just hope it’s in a color I can use.

    P.S.- Found this great link that shows what’s in all the boxes! http://zadidoll.blogspot.com/2012/05/birchbox-may-gossip-girl-boxes-sneek.html

    -J.Clarice
    http://www.uptownurban.com

    1. May 10, 2012 at 5:17 PM

      I know right! I thought it was all hype, but it REALLY works and is amazing! The beautyblender sponges are amazing for applying foundation! absolutely no streaking ! I love it because it makes it so easy. Lucky! I wanted the BB cream haha Hope you enjoy your box! Thanks for the link!

      1. May 13, 2012 at 4:48 AM

        I opened my Birchbox today! All the items were there and I’m IN LOVE with the full size Stila eyeliner…It’s a color I can actually use! Going to do a post (plus swatches) soon 😉

        1. May 14, 2012 at 4:10 AM

          Cool! I can’t wait to read your review!

  9. May 12, 2012 at 11:35 AM

    you should contact Birchbox and let them know you were missing items!!

    1. May 13, 2012 at 3:09 AM

      was I? I wasn’t sure if I was…

  10. Jen
    May 12, 2012 at 9:57 PM

    I gotta say I would be happy if I got what you did. This was my first box as well and I got way less and they were allsample sized.I will give it a few more months but it doesn’t look good.

    1. May 13, 2012 at 3:13 AM

      yeah I know what you mean. Its not that I was super unhappy , just expected more given all the raving people do about it you know?

  11. May 14, 2012 at 2:18 AM

    This was my first month too! I think it’s funny that so many people are blogging about just starting LOL! I added up the total of my samples and it came to just over $32 worth of product. I received an Anti-Aging moisturized that was worth over $20. This is awesome BUT on mny profile I specifically didn’t choose anti-aging because I have very oily skin and am 38 with not a single wrinkle. (In theory it sounds great, but I have breakouts like my teenager!) And how do you gift an anti-aging moisturizer??? So I’ll probably use it on my neck, because everyone needs a tighter neck right??? I love the concept and while this wasn’t the best thing ever I could receive I am thrilled about the hair care products I got. Will be bookmarking your site to see what you get too 🙂

    1. May 14, 2012 at 4:20 AM

      Haha I know right! That sounds like an awesome box! Its a shame its not meant for your skin type! you know, there are anti aging products for people with oily acne prone skin. they are just more difficult to find. Juice Beauty has a good one! Do you have a blog I can follow or will you let me know how your haircare products go? 🙂 Also, you can always follow my blog by email through subscribing on the left hand side of my site . I hope you will come and chat again soon!

  12. May 14, 2012 at 5:13 AM

    Wish birchbox was in Canada! I would’ve totally got it just for this box cause I love watching Gossip Girl. Everything seemed amazing, except for the headband. I was reading reviews of different people’s boxes and there was such a variety!

    1. May 14, 2012 at 7:44 AM

      You guys have awesome box subscriptions there that we don’t have as well! Yeah the headband was pretty lame, but I love the Diorshow Mascara a LOT . I have been using it like every day! I def. recommend it !

  13. May 17, 2012 at 5:39 PM

    Hi, this is my third birchbox and I got exactly the products listed on the card. My friend who also subscribes got thr conditioner and BB, but then a Zoya nail polish and no twistband. I don’t know why they are so different! I wish I had gotten Diorshow. 🙂

    Also I had been wanting to try a twistband but now that I’ve seen it I can’t imagine spending that much on them!! I googled DIY twistband and discovered that you can buy yards of the elastic on etsy for very little money and make them!! You search 5/8″ fold over elastic. It is sold in a ton of colors!! I was wondering if you could measure the headband so I can make them? (I got a hair tie). Thanks!! 🙂

    1. May 18, 2012 at 1:22 AM

      Wow huh maybe I did get shorted then and should contact them? It seems really odd. Maybe they have more of some items and less of others.. Yeah I was bummed the twistband looks so cheap. I think the label tag cost more than the actual band. I def. believe you could get it made yourself for cheap bc it literally looks like a piece of elastic knotted. lol. well hopefully you liked your box ! I can measure the headband if you like. where would I send the measurement info to?

      1. May 18, 2012 at 3:48 AM

        I wondered if people got different items based on preferences, but yours were SO different…if they don’t have enough items, why the wait list nonsense?! That’s annoying. Maybe I’ll try my glam. Anyway just an approximation of the length would be helpful. No need to untie it either. 🙂 to korey Oskins at gmail.com

        Thank you!

  14. Pingback: May Beauty Favorites! | Natural Beauty Tips & Reviews On All Things Beauty & Health Related
  15. June 2, 2012 at 4:42 AM

    The beauty blender cleanser and the mascara are nice! But the twistband.. not so much. I have heard so many great things about birchbox, so I have a high expectation of what they send out to people… I guess sometimes things just get too hyped up? 🙁 I hope the June box is better! 🙂

    1. June 2, 2012 at 4:50 AM

      Yeah the blender cleanser was fine; I guess I just felt like it was nothing special that I would pay for. Especially when they have the blender sponge that is so awesome it seems like such a mediocre product next to that you know? The Diorshow was AMAZING! lol. only reason I didn’t cancel my box. I agree everyone has such a high expectation for this subscription so maybe it is too hyped. I hope June box is better too! Otherwise its cancellation city!

  16. Pingback: June Jet Set Birchbox Review | Natural Beauty Tips & Reviews On All Things Beauty & Health Related
  17. Pingback: Twist Bands Revisited | Serving Up Fairy Dust With All Things Beauty, Health & Lifestyle ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge