The Best Hair Serum for Sun Protection: Yarok Feed Your Sunshine Hair Serum Review


The Best Hair Serum for Sun Protection

I was recently sent a small sample of the Yarok Feed Your Sunshine Serum from Beautyhabit and it came just in time to accompany me on my trip to Lake Tahoe!

I used it nearly every single day I was there as I spent a lot of time in the sun, hiking and swimming, and it worked brilliantly.

If you’re unfamiliar with Yarok, they’re a hair care company which develop natural and organically formulated hair products. They have a nice lineup of shampoos, conditioners, styling and treatment products.

The Feed Your Sunshine Serum is meant to help protect your hair from UV damage done to hair by the sun. It also doubles as a heat protectant when blow drying and straightening hair as well as from chlorine and ocean saltwater so it’s quite a versatile product!

Formulated with natural protective plant ingredients, this serum includes jojoba oil, black currant seed oil, aloe vera oil, tea tree, geranium, and lemongrass to help protect, heal, fortify, and condition hair while forming a barrier between your hair follicles and the sun, salt, or chlorine.

To use it, you simply apply 3 droppers full of the serum and massage into your hair before swimming in the lake, ocean or pool. This protects it from damage done by the sun, sea salt, and/or chlorine. Afterwards, you re-apply the same amount to your hair to condition your hair further and leave on for 10 minutes. You then shampoo and condition as usual.

I used this nearly every day at Lake Tahoe and I noticed that the infamous “lake hair” was greatly diminished. My hair didn’t feel dry or frazzled, frizz was barely there if at all, and my hair never felt brittle or dry. On the contrary, it actually felt more hydrated, softened, and conditioned than usual! Also, as a side note, I found that this serum smells incredibly similar to the Rainwater Botanicals Skin Repair Serum (meant for the face obv.) which I really enjoyed. It’s an incredibly sweet, yet slightly herbal scent that’s so pleasant and enjoyable in the summer.

Definitely give this hair serum a go if you frequently go swimming in the ocean, pool or lake and want something to keep your hair in tip top shop. Alternatively, if you spend long hours in the sun, this might also be a good choice to prevent UV damage and aging done to the hair by the sun. It could possibly help prevent aging in the hair and consequent gray hairs as well as hair loss. I wouldn’t call it a “growth” serum, but it’s a great addition to any routine which could use nourishment and protection and I personally think it’s the best hair serum for sun protection. Lastly, I think this works really well as a heat protectant if you straighten and/or blow dry or curl your hair often.

Learn more and purchase Yarok Feed Your Sunshine Serum.

Have You Tried Yarok Hair Products?

What’s Your Favorite Hair Care Product for Summer?

♥ Tianna

*affiliate links in post.

Share Button
Opt In Image
Gain Access to Exclusive Content!

What up green beauty rebels!

Are you new to green beauty and sustainable living? Tired of living a life of conformity? Want access to my FREE green resource library filled with TONS of helpful content including a massive list of my favorite, most effective green beauty brands and shops, non-toxic Halloween ideas, and more? 

Get FREE lifetime access to my Green Resource Library, exclusive monthly newsletters, access to sales and coupon codes, early access to giveaways, and weekly roundups so you never miss a post again! 

42 thoughts on “The Best Hair Serum for Sun Protection: Yarok Feed Your Sunshine Hair Serum Review

  1. August 28, 2014 at 11:41 AM

    I haven’t tried yarok products before, but I’m a huge believer in keeping your hair healthy during the summer months as well, to keep it healthy & shiny.
    Nancy recently posted…Dior Rouge Prêt-À-PorterMy Profile

  2. August 28, 2014 at 11:52 AM

    Oh! I need to try this!! I’m always up for trying out a new hair serum
    brita recently posted…Fruity Wine SpritzersMy Profile

  3. August 28, 2014 at 11:57 AM

    This stuff looks great! I have such frizzy and uncontrollable hair so I am always looking for new products to try 🙂
    Lindsay recently posted…Strawberry Pineapple Banana SmoothieMy Profile

  4. August 28, 2014 at 2:23 PM

    This product sounds really great! I want to do whatever I can to keep my hair healthy and I spend a bit of time out in the sun, so I’ll check this out 🙂
    Chelsea recently posted…The Sims™ 4 Launch Date + DemoMy Profile

  5. August 28, 2014 at 4:23 PM

    Awesome that you found a product that works for you. I always have a problem with really dry hair. I might have to check this out 🙂
    JoAnn recently posted…Imagine Toys: Family Play DateMy Profile

  6. August 28, 2014 at 4:36 PM

    This looks like a great product. My hair is getting drier as I get older, I wonder if this will help…

  7. August 28, 2014 at 7:02 PM

    I could definitely benefit from this serum. I am going to have to check it out.
    Melissa recently posted…Back to School Must-Have: Verizon Educational Tools #VZWBuzzMy Profile

  8. August 28, 2014 at 10:22 PM

    never thought of this! we have so much sunshine here, will look into this!
    ananda recently posted…DIY: Dimensional Paper Lanterns 2My Profile

  9. August 29, 2014 at 1:19 AM

    I need to try this! Living in the desert and all, I think it could really help.

  10. August 29, 2014 at 3:47 AM

    I love organic and natural products – this looks lovely, there are so many comparitive products out there now, it can get so confusing!

    Katie <3
    Katie Matthews recently posted…The MoorMy Profile

    1. August 29, 2014 at 4:21 PM

      me too! I know it can be confusing – I really love green beauty for skincare as I think it’s so important to treat your skin properly without harsh chemicals . That being said, it can be confusing to see what’s what and which is the best. I just go with what I like and based on ingredients and things 🙂

  11. August 29, 2014 at 5:58 AM

    Sounds like a great product! I have a problem with dry hair in the winter so I should check this out!
    Rebekah recently posted…Maybelline Colour Sensational Lip Colour – Very CherryMy Profile

    1. August 29, 2014 at 4:21 PM

      yeah definitely it would totally help and it smells amazing!

  12. August 29, 2014 at 7:01 AM

    I have never heard of the brand Yarok before. I wish I would have had this serum this summer, though! I’m definitely going to check it out.
    Carly Anderson recently posted…Under the Big Top GiveawayMy Profile

    1. August 29, 2014 at 4:22 PM

      Yeah it’s amazing and definitely worth a try. I think it’s even beneficial in winter to prevent dryness and also protect when styling.

  13. August 29, 2014 at 9:17 AM

    Great to know!

  14. August 29, 2014 at 9:37 AM

    My hair is in need of some of this goodness!
    kristine foley recently posted…Five on Friday & Friday ConfessionsMy Profile

  15. Dee
    August 29, 2014 at 11:14 AM

    This looks great! Thanks for sharing!
    Have a great weekend!

    Dee from

  16. August 29, 2014 at 12:58 PM

    I’m interested to know how well this would work on my hair. I always have to use lighter oils since it’s fine.
    Jessica Doll recently posted…McKinney Creek BeachMy Profile

    1. August 29, 2014 at 4:26 PM

      I think it would work really well as long as you use the oil sparingly. I have quite fair hair as well. I have a lot of it, but then it tends to go flat with too much oil or product so I have to be careful. This was perfect on my hair when I used a dime amount so definitely keep that in mind if you decide to try it!

  17. August 29, 2014 at 1:55 PM

    So I’ve never tried a hair serum before! I will have to give this a shot!
    Susan @ 2 cats & chloe recently posted…DIY Wedding Wish Tree + Giveaway!My Profile

    1. August 29, 2014 at 4:27 PM

      definitely do! There are a lot of kind of crap ones out there that don’t really do much, but this one is actually really lovely and has quality ingredients in that help keep hair healthy.

  18. August 29, 2014 at 3:49 PM

    Never heard of this brand before but been reading a lot about hair serums. Thanks for the review.

  19. August 29, 2014 at 5:16 PM

    Haven’t seen this but now I wanna try if it will help.

  20. August 29, 2014 at 5:46 PM

    Ugh I hate lake hair! Glad to hear this works so well!
    Megan @ All That Glitters recently posted…Giveaway: $200 Nordstrom Gift CardMy Profile

  21. Jessica
    August 30, 2014 at 8:02 AM

    I’ve seen this brand once before and I’ve been curious. I’ll have to check it out – thanks!

  22. August 30, 2014 at 11:39 AM

    Sounds like a great product! Since my hair is in the sun all year around this might be something very good for me.

  23. August 30, 2014 at 4:12 PM

    I totally need this! My hair has been getting really dried out from the sun! Thanks for introducing me to a new good product.
    Deanna Ritz recently posted…Pretty Pintastic Party #18My Profile

  24. August 31, 2014 at 11:28 PM

    I’ve never used a hair serum. This sounds really cool.

  25. September 1, 2014 at 9:22 AM

    I’ve never used a hair serum before. This looks great and I like that it protects you from the sun!
    Jess recently posted…Weekly Wishes #37: September GoalsMy Profile

  26. September 2, 2014 at 7:40 PM

    Since I have natural hair (very coarse and sensitive to chemicals), I am usually weary of swimming and getting my hair wet. I might check out this serum before summer truly ends in Texas.
    AdeDoyin recently posted…Football StyleMy Profile

    1. September 5, 2014 at 1:14 PM

      I can totally understand that. It’s such a pain esp with chlorine. This is definitely something to look into to protect your hair from the elements like drying ocean sea salt water, chlorine, sunlight (UV damage and aging), pollution, etc. It’s worth having on hand in summer, especially, but I think it can be beneficial to anyone who styles their hair or is outside a lot.

  27. September 3, 2014 at 1:11 PM

    Living in San Diego where the sun is out, I think the serum will be greatly useful. I have never heard from this company, but anything natural is a big plus in my book.

    Thrifting Diva

    1. September 4, 2014 at 5:29 PM

      cool! yeah SD is super sunny (my bf’s sister lives there). You can get Yarok at a store in SD I believe. I can’t think of the name, at the moment, but google Green Beauty and it should come up. For convenience 🙂

  28. September 5, 2014 at 1:27 AM

    How interesting. I’ve never heard of that brand before, but then again – there are so many different kind out there…Thanks for the introduction, i’ll look into the brand. You said it had a sweet & herbal scent. WHat i’d like to know – it it that strong herbal scent, that some ppl (and also myself) find too present & a bit annoying or is it rather light? Just asking since i’m quite sensitive to the strong scents.
    Luchessa recently posted…{Mug Swap} – YES i did it!My Profile

    1. September 5, 2014 at 6:32 AM

      The scent really doesn’t bother me and I’m sensitive as well. If you get right up to the serum and smell it, the scent is there, but I wouldn’t say it’s overpowering at all. And definitely when it’s in your hair, you really don’t smell it at all at that point

    2. September 5, 2014 at 12:21 PM

      this serum is LOVELY. Super light and you only need a small amount to get the benefits! I definitely think its great for protecting your hair from sun,pollution etc and the scent is only strong if you’re right up close to the product. If you’re not, it’s not even really detectable and once it’s on your hair, you won’t smell it at all. I don’t like overly strong scents either and this one suited me just fine. Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge